Smoke-Flavored Tempeh for breakfast

Smoked Tempeh for breakfast

Smoked Tempeh for breakfast

Mushroom Tofu Scramble (recipe in Breakfasts), toast with preserves, fresh fruit, and Smoked Tempeh

Mushroom Tofu Scramble (recipe in Breakfasts), toast with preserves, fresh fruit, and Smoked Tempeh

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz. package of tempeh
  • 1/4 cup tamari or soy sauce
  • 2 tsps. liquid smoke
  • 3 Tbsp. maple syrup

Steam block of tempeh in steamer basket (on stove 10 minutes OR in microwave approximate 6 minutes).

In medium bowl, combine all marinade ingredients, and mix well.

Let tempeh cool, then slice into strips. Place slices into mixture and allow to marinate. The longer, the stronger the flavor will be. I like to leave it in refrigerator overnight if possible, but at least 30 minutes is necessary.

Add strips to sauté pan with a little bit of the marinate liquid and cook over medium high heat until crispy on one side. Turn and brown on other side. Add more of the marinate and cook until caramelized.  About 5  minutes each side is a reasonable estimate.

 

Posted on December 27, 2014, in Breakfasts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. That looks like the perfect breakfast! Surprisingly, I’ve yet to try tempeh. Does it taste like tofu?

    • To be honest, I don’t make tempeh a lot, but our vegan daughter is home visiting for the holidays and she loves them. So the other morning I pulled out my recipe and whipped some up. We ate them for breakfast, and I put the leftovers on the top shelf in the fridge. Shortly before lunchtime, I saw her reach in a grab a couple more off the plate. A sure sign they were a ‘WIN!’ with her. Tempeh has a more nutty texture and flavor, and doesn’t taste anything like tofu. In the near future, I plan to try a barbeque tempeh recipe, and see how it goes. Thanks again!

      • I see, I don’t know why I imagined it tasting like tofu! I know I’ve seen it around in shops but for some reason I never picked it up. Thanks for the info. Now I’m really curious to try it 🙂

  2. Gorgeous carmelization– so important for tempeh to look appetizing. Great recipe, too!

    • Thanks so much, Vegan Flavorista! I took a peek at your blog and love what you do. I was telling my daughter about your in-home cooking services where you prepare meals for the whole week. We both think that’s awesome!

      • Thank you for checking out my blog! I own a vegan personal chef service in Palm Beach County. I love what I do…sharing plant-based meals with busy families! I real like your blog as well. I am a follower 🙂

Leave a Reply

